MC Tali to headline The Koru Project

Award winning drum and bass artist MC Tali is one of the headlining acts for a Taranaki fringe arts festival.

Born and bred on a Taranaki dairy farm, Natalia Sheppard is better known by her stage name, MC Tali.

Under that moniker she has travelled the world, performing at numerous festivals and scooping up awards on the way – including a recent Vodafone New Zealand Music Award for best electronica artist.

More than 500 people went to the inaugural festival last year.

She will take to the stage at The Koru Project in New Plymouth’s CBD during Taranaki Anniversary weekend.

The whanau-friendly and alcohol free festival hit the scene in February 2019 with Cornerstone Roots as the headlining act. More than 500 people enjoyed entertainment from musicians and artists, while raising nearly $3000 for Conductive Education Taranaki Trust.

This year the bumper programme includes a solid lineup of homegrown talent, headlined by drum and bass export MC Tali.

Rizki and the Vagancy

She is joined by a bunch of talented performers. Bringing the roots-reggae vibration will be Rizki and the Vagancy, while there will be psychedelic rock by Rockquest winners Olympus Jeopardy. Ed Pool will showcase their upbeat live synth-techno-jazz, while Trip Change will deliver earthy soul-infused feel-good funk, and Phil ‘Suspect’ Jones will sprinkle tasty beats.

There will also be activities available for young and old to enjoy together, including poi making, harakeke weaving, face painting, mask making, romiromi and miri miri (massage and healing), mural painting and more.

As well as this, around 50 concrete facial canvases have been deployed to various artists and creatives. These pieces will then be auctioned off in a bid to raise funds for Autism Connex. Café Green Door will be open during the event to view the art pieces available for auction.

The Koru Project became a non-profit Trust in October 2019 by a passionate group of volunteers, consisting of Luke Millard, Samantha Pigott, Alessandra Keighley, Joni Murphy, Sharina Parsottam, Ron Forrester, Terri Niwa, Anne Dawson, Jacob Waterman and Milly Hart.