Womad day schedule announced for 2020

Reggae icon Ziggy Marley will wow Womad on the Friday night of the three-day festival.

On Thursday Womad organisers announced the 2020 festival day schedule, which reveals which artists will play on what day of the festival.

The highly anticipated Marley will play once, on the first night of the award-winning festival, as will Australia’s jazz, soul, funk fusion group Hiatus Kaiiyote.

UK’s folk award-winning Laura Marling will also make a one-off appearance on Saturday, as will Aotearoa’s supergroup L.A.B.

The good news for those who want to see every one of the great acts at Womad is the bevvy of repeat performances. For the 2020 festival these double performances include the living legends of gospel The Blind Boys Of Alabama, the mesmerising harp-kora duo of Catrin Finch and Sokou Keita, and the all-female Mexican mariachi ensemble Flor de Toloache, and more.

New Zealand’s Albi & the Wolves, Reb Fountain, Soaked Oats, and Troy Kingi are all scheduled for repeat performances over the three days and The Black Quartet are also set to play twice, once in a highlight performance with Mali’s Trio Da Kali.

The full stage schedule will be released in January, and will include the World Of Words, Taste The World, STEAM Lab and the on-site performance schedules. 

  • Womad NZ 2020 is on March 13 to 15, 2020 at Brooklands Park and the TSB Bowl of Brooklands. For more information and for tickets, visit www.womad.co.nz


Ziggy Marley (Jamaica), Albi & The Wolves (Aotearoa/NZ),Blind Boys of Alabama (USA),Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita (Wales/Senegal),Destyn Maloya (Réunion),Ezra Collective (UK), Flor de Toloache (Mexico/USA), Hiatus Kaiyote (Australia), Hot Potato Band (Australia), Ifriqiyya Electrique (Maghreb/Europe), KermesZ à l’Est (Belgium), Kim So Ra (South Korea), King Ayisoba (Ghana), L.A.B. (Aotearoa/NZ), Laura Marling (UK), Liniker e os Caramelows (Brazil), L Subramaniam (India), Marina Sattir & Fońes (Greece/Sudan), Minyo Crusaders (Japan), Orquesta Akokán (Cuba), Reb Fountain (Aotearoa/NZ), RURA (Scotland), Salif Keita (Mali), Soaked Oats (Aotearoa/NZ), The Black Quartet (Aotearoa/NZ), Trio Da Kali (Mali), Troy Kingi (Aotearoa/NZ) Tuuletar (Finland)

Dave Fane (Aotearoa), Joanne Drayton (Aotearoa), Ken Arkind (USA), Mike Chunn (Aotearoa), Miriam Lancewood (Aotearoa), Penny Ashton (Aotearoa), Selina Tusitala Marsh (Aotearoa), Shayne Carter (Aotearoa), Te Radar (Aotearoa)